When is the 2017 STAR Awards deadline?
The deadline for entries is June 1, 2017 at 5:00 pm PST. Any entries received after that time will incur a 10% processing fee. Entries received after Friday, June 16 at 5 p.m. PST will not be accepted.
Can I enter STAR Awards if I am not a mutual fund company?
Yes. Non-mutual fund companies can submit entries on behalf of a mutual fund firm (i.e. agencies, firms that have mutual fund clients).
Can I enter materials from previous years?
Materials from previous years can be entered if they have not previously won a STAR Award or have been significantly revised since receiving a STAR Award.
Can I enter a submission in more than one category?
Yes. You may enter the same submission in more than one category as long as it is a fit. Each submission will be billed according to the 2017 STAR pricing.
When should my materials have been used?
There is not a set time frame on when the communication materials were used. However, the materials must not have won a STAR Award previously unless they have been significantly revised (i.e. website).
Can I enter materials used outside the US?
No, communication materials must be used in the U.S.
How do I enter for an overall award?
Please submit three samples that showcase different efforts from the firm in the area of Retail, Advisor and/or Retirement. Samples should align with existing categories and show consistency and integration in the key areas of brand, messaging, education, digital and design.
How is Overall different this year?
Like the prestigious Community Investment award, to qualify for an Overall Retail, Advisor and/or Retirement award, entrants must submit a separate entry for consideration in the overall category in Retail, Advisor or Retirement. Please submit three samples that showcase different efforts from the firm.
How do I pay for a STAR Award entry?
After your entry has been submitted, you will receive an invoice via email. When you view this invoice in your browser, you will have the option to pay online. You can also mail a check or submit an ACH payment.
When will the winners be announced?
Winners will be announced and recognized during The STAR Awards Celebration on Wednesday, October 25, 2017, at the J.W. Marriott hotel in Chicago. The MFEA Marketing Council will also meet that day in Chicago with the Digital Council meeting the day prior.